I shall not stand at your grave and weep

I shall not stand at your grave and weep;
You are never there, nor are asleep.
I’m with the thousand winds that blow,
I’ve seen diamond glints on snow,
I’ve wondered about the sun on ripened grain,
I enjoyed the gentle autumn rain.
Every time I awaken in the morning’s hush
I experience the swift uplifting rush
Of quiet birds in circling flight.
I gaze at the soft star-shine at night.
I shall not stand at your grave and cry,
Because you are not there, you did not die.

‘Til we meet again, friend!

One thought on “I shall not stand at your grave and weep

  1. I like this poem!!!! 🙂 Thumbs up!

Leave a Reply

