CLARA C – Art in my Heart

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It was a delayed holidays present to myself, but it was well worth the wait. Clara’s debut album finally reached my hands – which was a little overdue actually. I was supposed to grab this way back December 1 when she held her solo performance (albeit with Charles Tan) at the Music Museum – but they ran out of stock! Luckily, they offered to have one shipped “in the next few days”. Days turned to weeks and turned to a month – until last Friday, I received a claim slip for a package that has just been shipped. Without a doubt in my mind, it had to be this. 🙂

The art in the cover (no pun intended) is very… hmm, how I say this, Clara-like? It featured some of the instruments the talented gal can play. I’m just wondering why her world famous guitar wasn’t in the box art. In any case, the CD package contained a lyric book and a little note to all her fans – which is extra nice! I could imagine her actually saying those words having met her in person, and I could tell that she really meant it.

After listening to all the songs a couple of times, I must say that there is something that is being overshadowed by her enchanting voice – and that is – the lyrics of the songs, especially Fool’s Gold and Dear Daphne. I’m not quite sure if she’s the one writing them, but I believe she does. These two instantly became my favorite in the list (along with Heartstrings), and it’s easy to tell why:

Fool’s Gold
CLARA C

Fingers pressed into the dirt
Searching for what numbs the hurt
Vision’s spotted white
Needed pitch dark to see light

Taking lefts, then taking rights
How many right turns will take me up
I’m lost when on my own
But I’ll find my way back home

Thought I’d find ore on your shores
Left all I had too fast before
My heart’s underbelly, you tore
Won’t be whole anymore

Fool’s gold
Struck fool’s gold
Cry wolf
Wolves’ gold

Dumbdumbdumb
Dumdumdumdum

Two tall trees
Spring came
We sprouted golden leaves
Then came the rain
Now they’re falling two by two
A trail of love by me and you

Call them gold ’cause all I see is taupe
Your rain poured, our love’s been soaked
Leave these clouds, get gone
All I could wring from our love was this song

Thought I’d find ore on your shores
Left all I had too fast before
My heart’s underbelly, you tore
Won’t be yours anymore

Fool’s gold
Struck fool’s gold
Cry wolf
Wolves’ gold

Dumbdumbdumb
Dumdumdumdum

Dear Daphne
CLARA C

Put him down
That clown of a thing you call a man
Put him down
Put it down
That liquid courage
Too much courage made you foolish now

You’ll drown
You’ll drown

Stay with me
Your eyes are rolling to the back of your head
Stay with me
Remember the things that I said
Til then I’ll be holding your head
Your head

I was there
A dead soul looking for love
In pretty snake holes
You’re now there
You’re opening bombs in gift wrap
Without a care

Get out of there
Get out of there

I see so much of me in you
But only the pages I threw away
From my story
You don’t need
That kind of black and blue
Marking up your heart
Bleeding through all of your pages

The words on those pieces are just immense! I wish I could write like that someday.

After this, all I can say is that I can’t wait for the 2nd album to come out! ^^

2 thoughts on “CLARA C – Art in my Heart

  1. She’s the one you blogged about before diba? Listened to her na. Nice soothing voice

Leave a Reply

