The Realities of a Not So Distant Past

My lousy attempt to grab an image of the field from the web

So last weekend, there we were with four of my friends, in the Ateneo High School Football Field, hoping that we can realize our life-long dream of actually playing football, rather than just facing the monitor and playing football-related video games. The only kinda disappointing part of the day was that there were only 5 of us present. I certainly hope more of us could come next weekend and the following weekends after that.

After a grueling 4 hours of trying to replicate the video game to reality, we felt the stamina (or the lack thereof) kick in and our feet complaining of pain. But all was certainly worth every sweat of it. Being able to play the game we “virtually” love is definitely a dream come true, and we’ll keep trying it until we’re good at it.

But for me, this was just the icing on the cake. What mattered most to me is that this was actually the first time I got to visit my Alma Mater since graduation! Katipunan looks the same and yet so different at the same time. It was really hard to detach yourself once you get used to living in this place – everything here is perfect from our point of view. But every good comes to an end, right? It’s a harsh reality we must all accept at one point in our lives.

Just being there with college friends brought a lot memories. It was very nostalgic. I know I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – nothing can ever replace my college life. The moment I stepped out of the tricycle in Katipunan, it’s like 3 years ago all over again. It was so near that I feel like I could grab it, and yet every time I try to reach it, time slaps my face to stop my disillusionment and shouts right at my face: “It was all but a memory now!”

True, memories are always there and no one can take that away from us, except for you, time. That is why I wish for you – to not take my memories away from me. This is all I could ever cling to if I feel like reminiscing the elegiac past.

I know for one thing that the future could not bring back the times where every moment in our lives was worthy of painting the town red, but life is full of surprises. I still have high hopes that this roller-coaster ride will not end soon. Rather, I’m looking forward to a thousand ways how life can change the way I feel, the way I felt, and the way I am looking at the next calendar dates.

To those unforgettable moments that are next in line, I’ve waited long enough for you. Don’t evade me now. 😉

6 thoughts on “The Realities of a Not So Distant Past

  1. Your entry just reminded me to go to Taft and claim my alumni card, since I’ve been postponing this for 2 weeks already.. >.<

    College life is fun and memorable, indeed. Such a shame though that I wasn't able to live my college life to the fullest. Hence, I still cling so much to my dear high school memories.

    I'm sure you'll have more unforgettable moments soon. 🙂 Real life starts after college anyway.

  2. The only real reason why my college life was legen… (wait for it).. dary, is because of the life outside college – dormitories! Being with your friends 24/7 is the highest form of freedom, haha.

    Seriously though, I don’t think I’ll ever have another ‘stretch of life’ as memorable as those, so I’ll definitely treasure it. As for you, I’m pretty sure life awaits, just don’t drown in it. 😉

  3. Awww. I can’t imagine being away from Katips anytime soon. Di mo dinaanan The Choice novel mo, haha.

    • Di ko rin naman nakita si Nicholas Sparks, we’re out of town that day, sobrang malas.

      Anyway, malapit na graduation mo, congratulations! =)
      You’ll also face the heart-wrenching task of leaving Katipunan. </3

  4. and i thought all along the grass is blue in ateneo. nice one kid 🙂

Leave a Reply

