‘Tis the Season + Makoto Shinkai New Film

And yes, I have finally written a blog post for a very long time! Nice to be back, Hanamuke.

Anyway, Christmas is just around the corner and I really can’t wait for it! Ever since I was a child, I have always this excited feeling whenever I get to see Christmas decorations everywhere. Just like last night, I was in Cubao and I saw this really huge Christmas tree just between Farmer’s and Gateway Mall with all sorts of great decorations. Seeing that just lit up the kid in me and I really can’t stress enough how excited I am hahaha.

But the sad part is that I am not done yet with my thesis. Booo! Haha.

Anyway, my major reason for this post here is to announce further announcements from Sir Makoto Shinkai‘s new film, which now has a title and a trailer!

The official title I think is Hoshi o Ou Kodomo: Children Who Chase Lost Voices From Deep Below. Well actually, the literal translation is Children Who Chase The Stars, but I guess a little English addition won’t just (just like Beyond the Clouds, The Promised Place). A little excerpt from Shinkai’s post:

The conception of my recent movie, “Hoshi wo Ou Kodomo” goes back to a children story I read when I was going to elementary school. I was about ten years old at the time and the story really moved me because it was full of secrets of life and wonders of the world I had no idea about – like first love or the feeling of going on a journey together with friends. It was also full of mysterious concepts like taste of water or color of the air, or the fact that even the adults have worries. Or that there’s a side to each of us we ourselves don’t know about. That light and shadow, life and death, exist side by side in this world. It made me intellectually excited but it also made my chest hurt.

When I started working on this movie a year and half ago, I wrote down a bunch of keywords – “loss”, “modern fantasy for young audience”, “a girl turning into a woman”, “a boy who lost his home”, “a man who rationally decided not to believe reason”, and so on. I think I made those to help myself and the staff throughout the long creative process, but the movie that we want you to see isn’t just a strict reproduction of a set of pre-written keywords and outlines. We want you to experience the same deep emotions that moved us so much before. And I wanted to express that feeling in an anime movie for the young.

“Hoshi wo Ou Kodomo” is a story about a boy and a girl, embracing all kinds of happiness and sadness on their run through the vivid colorful world. It is the kind of movie I myself have always wanted to see so I hope as many of you as possible will feel the same. Please, look forward to the release.

Makoto Shinkai, November 2010

And HERE is the website of the new film. You can also watch the trailer HERE. (You can also watch the trailer from the official website).

I CAN’T WAIT for my eyes and my *ehem* emotions to feast on this one. Let’s go Shinkai-san!

More screenies HERE.

Sources: Cherry Blossoms Falling Forums, Anime News Network

Leave a Reply

