Kimikiss Pure Rouge

Yes, not another anime review of a previous anime series that deserve a round of applause.

1

Kimikiss Pure Rouge
20 July 2009, 17:58:24

Okay, first things first – JC Staff made a good stuff on this one. Of course, here I am again speaking from a very biased view of having it watched just recently. I’ve said this already and will say it all over again, I am easily attached to anything that I watch as long as I can relate to them easily. However, this one pierced a hole. Immensely.

Before even reading this, you must be aware that this anime is definitely, absolutely, and unarguably categorized as romance, drama, and slice-of-life. So all you action hunters laying their eyes on this, you may press Ctrl+F4 immediately. Also, MASSIVE SPOILERS AHEAD to those who haven’t watched it yet. Furthermore, if you’re a fan of the above said genre, then this is a MUST watch. No regrets here. The story is so engrossing that it will, without a doubt, be one of your favorites.

2

Anyway, the plot was not anything less than good. It may not be great though because the ending is quite predictable with Mao and Kyoichi and that a part of the story revolved entirely on how Kyoichi ended up with Hoshino on 23 and a half episodes and eventually be with her true love, Mao, on the final ten minutes or so of the anime. However, the way that the events have been handled and the character growth was astounding. The flow of the story is great and the conclusion to this great series was fitting.

I am more amazed at the character of Aihara though. With how he handled things between Sakino and Futami. I am a Futami x Aihara fan all the way and the way it’s been done is just fantastic – it coudn’t have been better. It’s very hard integrating what’s abstract and what’s logic. Definitely, love is not scientific at all. No scientific method could study it even in it’s unpure sense. Glad to see that the character of Futami has been changed ENTIRELY. Kudos for JC Staff! I vote her as the character of the series. On other note, I despise you Kouichi for dumping Hoshino after all those times! Geez.. And I thought they’d be a great couple.. They looked like perfect together.. But, guess other things are meant for that matter huh?

On the other aspects though, the animation and sound weren’t top notch, and I can bluntly say that it doesn’t even reach the level of Clannad. The voice acting went well but there are times where I felt the like the real persons portraying them weren’t feeling the lines they were supposed the deliver. If it weren’t for the strong emotion attachment to this series, it would have been somewhat a failure.

3

The OP, which does not change the whole series, worked fine with me. ED1 (Negai Hoshi/Boshi) has always been in my MP3 list even before I watched the series. I just can’t remember why… Hmm. Maybe I just clicked a random OST one time and liked it, so there.. However, what’s very likeable in this series, and I say, THE PART THAT I LIKED THE MOST, is the ED2 (Wasurenaide by Suara). The melody, the tone, the feeling, the melancholy, the voice, it’s just down right magnificent. I like the way they insert the EDs in the final seconds of each episode. It captivates you every single time. I’m a sucker for anime scenes with background music that tingles the heart – errr, you know what I mean. As soon as I get my keyboard repaired, I’m definitely playing this one. Not to mention, I think I’m going to buy myself a violin for my birthday. And why not try the violin part as well? For sure, this melody and song will resonate in my heart and my mind for days to come.

Overall, Kimikiss Pure Rouge was an anime series depicting honesty in one’s feelings and how feelings may be developed, enriched, and treasured. Surely, Kimikiss is one of the best slice-of-life finds out there. Great job. Probably an 8 out of 10.

4

(errr, that was emotional… wasn’t it? ummm, sorry about that. i get really carried away…)

5 thoughts on “Kimikiss Pure Rouge

  1. This is a great review. I like this anime soo much. This has got to be one of my most favorite anime of all time. Actually, I’m pretty sure it is my favorite. But i just finished this and I though my life was over! This anime was fantastic! I loved it 100%! But I don’t know what to watch anymore, since I finished this one…Do you have another one that could possibly top this one? This anime, for me, is by far the best anime that could possible be created! If you have another suggestion for me that I could watch, please, tell me.

    • If you liked this series, then try the following: H20 ~Footprints in the Sand~, ~ef~ A Tale of Memories & ~ef~ A Tale of Melodies, sola, Myself; Yourself; True Tears, Clannad and Clannad After Story (personal favorites). This one is my favorite anime movie of all time: Byousoku 5 centimeters. Better watch ’em all! 😀

  2. I was reading somewhere that Amagami SS is almost exactly like this. I am planning on watching that next. Definitely enjoyed watching this and LOVED the last episode! My 2 Favorite characters got together!!!!!!!!

    Definitely on the top of my favorites list along with Shuffle!, Clannad, Clannad ~ After Stories, True Tears, ToraDora, School Rumble, Rumbling Hearts, Rosario + Vampire, Girls Bravo, Kaichou Wa Maid-Sama in order from Favorite to least Favorite (but still recommend and are all my favorites). Definitely watch these if you haven’t already.

    • Yes true! Amagami is somehow alike Kimikiss in many ways. Those are a good list, and I have a good list myself. If you’d like a list of mine along these genre, just say so and I will paste them here 😉

Leave a Reply

